There is confusion over the siting of the newly proposed law school in Ekiti State, as two monarchs have made claims it was sited in their domain.
The Alawe of Ilawe, Ajibade Alabi and the Olufaki of Ifaki, Adegbenro Falore, are separately celebrating the approval, apparently due to a mix up during the final reading of the bill by the Senate on Tuesday.


The confusion was further compounded with letters emanating from the palaces of the monarchs declaring that they were each the host communities.
The Senate on Tuesday passed a bill for the establishment of six more branches of the Nigeria Law School in the six geopolitical zones of the country, with that of the Southwest approved to be sited in Ekiti.


When the bill was being passed, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, was reported to have announced Ifaki Ekiti in Ido/ Osi local government area of the state as the host community for the branch approved for Ekiti.
But at a press conference later addressed by the sponsor of the bill and Senator representing Kogi West, Senator Smart Adeyemi, he said to have countered the earlier pronouncement and announced Ilawe Ekiti, in Ekiti Southwest as the host town for the branch.
Reacting to the situation in a statement signed by his Special Adviser on Media, Bummi Ajibade, Mr Alabi, urged members of the public to disregard the earlier fake news that the campus was for another town rather than Ilawe.
 The monarch stated that he appeared before the Senate Committee on legal Education in Abuja in November 2021 and spoke on behalf of the traditional rulers of the six geo political zones where the six proposed law schools would be sited.  “I, on behalf of the entire people of Ilawe Ekiti commend the distinguished members of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria for approving the siting of the campus of the Nigerian law school meant for the South West geo political zone, in Ilawe Ekiti,” he said.
The Alawe specifically commended the leadership of the Senate led by Ahmed Lawan and the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Legal Education headed by Opeyemi Bamidele as well as the sponsor of the motion, Smart Adeyemi.
But the Olufaki of Ifaki Ekiti, Adegbenro Falore, said he received with gratitude the news of the passage of the bill establishing a Campus of the Nigerian Law School at Ifaki Ekiti, appreciating the 9th Senate of the National Assembly for this enviable feat.
“Your Excellency, we equally appreciate the sponsor of the Bill, Senator Smart Adeyemi for the courage and objectivity in his presentation on the floor of the Senate. 
“Our Appreciation also goes to the chairman and members of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matter for their efforts aimed at making the Bill see the light of the day. We assure you all that your names shall be written in gold in the annals of Ifaki Ekiti history.
“Your Excellency, we are seizing this medium to draw the attention of your esteemed office to the misrepresentation of the passage of the Bill particularly the location of the Campus by a section of the media. 
“It is worthy of note that Ifaki Ekiti is contained in the Bill at the first reading as well as at the passage of the Bill in the hallowed chamber of the Senate.”
The newly approved law schools is in addition to the seven existing ones, bring the total number of law schools in the country to 13, excluding that of the Federal Capital Territory.
The approval of the new law campuses followed the consideration and adoption of a report by the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters on the Legal Education Act (Amendment) Bill, 2021.
The bill was sponsored by Smart Adeyemi (APC-Kogi).
Accordingly, the Senate approved the Jos Law School Campus, Plateau and Kabba Law School Campus, Kogi, for the North-central geo-political zone.
The chamber also gave the nod for the Yola Law School Campus, Adamawa and Maiduguri Law School Campus, Borno, to serve the North-east zone.
In the North-west, the Senate approved the Kano Law School Campus, Kano State and Argungun Law School Campus, Kebbi.
In the South-east, the chamber gave approval for the Enugu Law School Campus and Okija Law School Campus, Anambra.
The Senate also approved the Yenegoa Law School Campus, Bayelsa; Port Harcourt Law School Campus, Rivers and Orogun Law School Campus, Delta for the South- south zone.In the South-west, the chamber approved the Lagos Law School Campus, Lagos; and Ilawe Law School Campus, Ekiti.
The Bwari Law School Campus, Abuja, remains exclusively for the Federal Capital Territory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *